Philip Hobbs Form and Entries
Philip Hobbs
  • Richard Johnson and Tom O’Brien
  • Philip and Richard Johnson
  • Michael Nolan – Jockey
  • Tom Cheesman – Conditional Jockey
  • Conor Smith - Jockey


Richard Johnson
Richard Johnson has been first Jockey at Sandhill for the past 16 years and was crowned Champion Jockey for the first time in 2016, which is duly deserved after being runner up to AP McCoy for the past 16 times. He is a massive asset to the yard and has ridden over 3,000 winners during his career. He regularly comes to the yard to school the horses during the season.


Tom O’Brien
Tom O’ Brien is another leading jockey which we are lucky enough to have attached to the yard. Tom has always been involved in racing from an early age with his family as his uncle is Aiden O’Brien. He joined us in 2004 as a stable lad from there he rode point-to-pointing and went on to riding as a Conditional for the yard. He won the Conditional Jockey Championship in 2006 and broke the record of winners in a season totalling 107. Tom also rides out regularly at the yard during the season. 


Michael Nolan
Michael came to Sandhill in 2010 and has since won the Novice Point-to Point Championship. He took out his Conditional license in 2012 and ridden numerous winners on the track.

James Best
James joined our yard in 2007 and after having numerous point-to-point winners he took out his Conditional license where he rode out his claim. His biggest achievements for the yard are winning on Lamb or Cod and Ballygarvey.


Conor Smith
Conor joined us in 2012 from Richard Barber’s yard where he was Champion Novice Point-to-Point rider in 2012. He is from Northern Ireland and is in his fourth season with us riding 20 winners under rules so far.


Sean Houlihan
This is Sean’s first season as a conditional for us, after riding plenty of winners in point to points, he is a valuable 7Ib claimer for the yard.


Tom Cheesman
Tom joined the team in 2008 and has been a great asset to our yard, as well as being a very capable jockey.